The Small Stuff

Sometimes I bother God for stuff that is superficial even in my own life, much less from a world point of view. I’ve been known to beg for a chance to play pickleball. That requires a lessening of my back and hip pain. I pray for healing for myself and Doug all the time, but this is a specific wish for a particular activity. I want to play pickleball because it makes me feel like a kid again and it’s FUN.  I also love my fellow pickleball players.

Then I think of all the pain, suffering and loss in the world, and I feel like a real jerk  taking up God’s time for my petty request. This morning while I was thinking about that, I realized how presumptuous I was to outline God’s limitations. Doubting his capacity to handle it all is an insult to His omnipotence, His omniscience and His caring nature. We’re told in Matthew 10:30 that even the hairs on our heads are numbered. That’s a pretty big capacity for details. In Philippians Chapter 4, He invites us “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving let your requests be made known.”

I’m going to leave the mystery of how He handles all that to Him, and be thankful that He is interested in my problems big and small.

2 thoughts on “The Small Stuff

  1. He hears every prayer – big and small. Men are that they might have joy and it’s no fun to be in pain. I believe God wants only the best for us, but we need to ask.

    Like

Leave a Reply

